A to Z Home Inspections Reviews - Mount Pleasant, SC | Angi (2023)

5.0

05/29/2018

MIKE and KRISTA N.

We used Mike in 2014 for an inspection for a different home and it was a pleasure to work with him again on this home inspection. He responded to my email message promptly and added our inspection on his busy schedule. He did a thorough job and answered many questions during the inspection. We received his full report including pictures (and a summary report) the same day. Since we live out of town Mike recommended an electrician and a roofing contractor for work that needed to be done. Mike did a tremendous job and I will most definitely be using him again.

Description of Work
Home inspection prior to closing on a four bedroom home.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for review, it was a pleasure helping you and your family... And I hope to be of help in the future. Call, email or text anytime! :-)

5.0

04/24/2018

Derrick K.

24 hour turnaround from inspection to report.

Description of Work
Roof inspection for hail damage

Category home inspection

5.0

03/26/2017

Terry M.

Mike performed a inspection for the purchase of our new home. He was very professional and through I would highly recommend him and use him again. His prices are listed on the web site and go by sq footage.

Description of Work
home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

03/26/2017

Honey L.

He was great. Very thorough inspection, explained everything to me in simple terms and answered all of my questions. Provided a through and professional report. It is clear that he is extremely knowledgeable about home building, building codes and quality.

Description of Work
We are buying a new home and Mike was hired to do the home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/12/2017

Kathy W.

Great service and came back for 2nd inspection after work was done on a weekend !

Description of Work
Mike is a great inspector . He lets you know everything good/bad that is going on with house. Has state of the art camera that sees between walls and detects rotten areas, wetness , etc....

Category home inspection

5.0

01/04/2017

Concenmari R.

The job was permormed fast and professionally, also, he was extremely knowledgeable, nice and polite. we were very satisfied for hiring this company and strongly recommend them for everyone.

Description of Work
Complete home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

The most thorough home inspection I have ever seen. Plus he's highly professional and very pleasant and informative. He puts most others to shame.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

08/20/2016

David W.

Incredible service. All inquiries answered within an hour, Called and inspection scheduled within a few days. Very thorough inspection. 98 photos and a detailed summary and report, He answered all my questions about the inspection professionally and clearly. Made a number of suggestions of things to maintain if I bought property, Great value for the price.

Description of Work
Inspection of a beach condo

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you Sir...

5.0

08/16/2016

Louise M.

I am buying this town home, sight unseen, from California. Mr. Gault, along with my realtor, has been very reassuring, punctual and thorough.

Description of Work
Thorough inspection of a town home. Report/photographs available the same day.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you!

5.0

08/02/2016

Tom T.

Great! Mike responded quickly to my request for a pre-sale inspection. He showed up on time and explained the process to my husband and me. At the completion of the inspection, Mike explained his findings and showed us the pictures he had taken to document the findings. Mike clearly knows his stuff. Purchasing a home is an exciting, but also stressful experience. Working with Mike on our home inspection gave us peace of mind. We now know what needs to be attended to immediately and what items go on our repair/maintenance schedule. We are also confident that we are buying a very well built / maintained home.

Description of Work
Pre-sale home inspection

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you Sir for the kind words. I'm very appreciative...

2.0

07/21/2016

William G.

We lived out of state at the time, and, based on his Angie's List reviews, we contacted Mike to do a pre-pour inspection of our new home. His communication was initially good, and he agreed to do it on a Wednesday. Then he emailed and said he got behind and wasn't close enough to swing by. He said he'd do it Thursday. I confirmed with both him and the builder that he'd be there Thursday, but after that, I never heard from him again. No email, no inspection report, no bill. They poured the cement that Friday, and we'll hope that the field manager and county inspectors were thorough. If he was too busy, we would have appreciated him telling us that upfront so that we could have tried to find someone else. We recently hired someone else to do our pre-drywall inspection, and they were excellent. We will use them again for our final inspection and 1-year warranty inspection. 00

Description of Work
We contacted Mike to do a pre-pour inspection of our new home.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Sorry again but as I told you - I had a full schedule of inspections the week you needed your pre-pour done and would likely Not be able to complete it (if I'm not already scheduled to be close to your location some distance away then the time to make an extra trip disrupts the entire days schedule) but remained hopeful that I could. I did call to let you know that I would not be able to make it the Wednesday but didn't call the next day when I could not make it Thursday - for that failure to call again I apologize. As to the 'no further communication hit' I'll own that too. When the schedule is full it leaves very little time for calls and explanations for work I was not able to complete. I hope that you will concede that I told you on the very first contact that based on the distance to your job site I was 'unlikely your best bet' from the start. I wish you the best of luck with your home going forward -- I really do. -Mike

5.0

07/19/2016

Jim S.

My timing was unintentionally perfect, as Mike was on his way to inspect a home in my soon to be new neighborhood, and he was able to go take care of my inspection the same day. He provided me a report that night , which I had with me when I did my pre-drywall walk through with the builder the next day. Thanks for the responsiveness Mike!

Description of Work
Pre-drywall mechanical inspection

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words - It was truly impeccable timing and I'm thankful for it as well (it was literally on the Same Street as the one to which I was en route to) If I may use your response to highlight the unhappy members comments (and my reply) above, the Construction Phase Inspections are not typically a hard scheduled event. Changes in the both the schedule of the builder and my own being somewhat less important than the location of the home (a Mt Pleasant home under construction can be much easier for me to visit than a Johns Island home as was both your home and the unhappy members home) and my ability to 'get by it' in time. Sometimes I can and sometimes I can't - but I really do try. Thank you again, Mike

5.0

07/12/2016

Caroline S.

Great - Mike caught some issues that were not completely fixed and we were able to have the sellers correct this prior to close.

Description of Work
Mike did a reinspection after the sellers made repairs.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/20/2016

Currie M.

Michael is an expert! I would never use any other inspector. The seller and his contractor were trying to bully us into accepting sub-par repairs and Michael stood up to them. He explained all the ways the repair should be done properly and reminded them that he is also licensed as a contractor as well as a home inspector. Michael has experience and expertise in both construction as well as home inspecting and can walk buyers and sometimes sellers (and their sloppy contractors) through the ins and outs of how to do things properly.

Description of Work
He inspected and then reinspected the home.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. I try very hard to do the best possible inspection I can and to represent my clients in the best manner I know.

5.0

12/29/2015

Susan W.

Easy to read report. Pleasure to do business with. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Home Inspection with thermal imaging

Category home inspection

3.0

12/16/2015

Janalyn S.

Mike was professional, courteous, and did a seemingly excellent job on our home inspection. He seemed to be knowledgeable and thorough and took his time explaining his observations and concerns. This was our first time buying a home and he helped us to feel much more confident in the decision. Unfortunately, though he spent ample time on the roof of the home, he did not notice some important errors the previous owners made when re-roofing the home just months before. They installed the new roof directly over the old shingles, did not replace any damaged decking, nor install a water shield layer on the low-pitched porch. Besides these, the most important issue was the fact that they did not install the valleys of the roof correctly, and Mike did not notice this. They were not woven, meaning that in just a year, water began leaking into our porch and attic and damaging the porch ceiling and front wooden facings. This wasn't noticeable until recent heavy rains did greater damage. We asked several roofers to come look at the roof and all of them were shocked by the poor installation. Unfortunately, this must not be Mike's area of expertise, because he mentioned no concerns regarding the roof at the time of our home inspection. Now, though doing a part of the work ourselves, we still have to pay a hefty, several thousand dollar sum to have the front half of the roof completely redone and the valleys properly rewoven. We are even experiencing some mold issues from the damp decking. It saddens me to have to write this review, because we were thrilled with Mike at the time of the inspection. An oversight of the poor work of the sellers has just led to a very costly repair. This is our sole disappointment.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

First, I'm sorry you had ANY issues with the roof coverings on your home – walking a roof is not even required by the State SOP’s but I do it to try to avoid this very issue – particularly on a “New Roof” per the MLS. I just re looked at the pictures taken on the day I walked the roof and would still not call it out as 'in need of repair' I'm afraid - It was a 4 or 5 month old 3-tab architectural shingle. All the penetrations and flashings (vent boots and chimney surround) were sealed and the valleys Were woven and appeared fine (that it took a year and a half and "the rain of the century" to make leak means it was not an 'obviously defective weave' or patent defect) As to the decking underneath the shingles that should have been replaced - that was not visible and I didn't Walk on any soft spots - so these could have developed in the interim year and a half. The low slope over the rear porch without a complete Ice and Water shield or similar underneath the shingles - again not visible to me; and when you walk a very recently replaced roof covering with no obvious issues to call it out as “In need of Repair” is Not warranted. As to the roofers who subsequently evaluate it (and I intend no insult) they are there to provide a more invasive and technically exhaustive inspection AND to get you to contract with them to DO something/anything so they can earn a living. Throwing the inspector under the bus is a standard MO I’m afraid – I wish I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard a contractor say “man your inspector should have caught this!” I thank you for taking the time to submit a report on the service I provided you (albeit late and then only after I was ‘ran over’ by the roofers! :-) and then Thank You very much for the kinder comments in your report. I wish you the very best going forward in your home and a Merry Christmas. -Mike

5.0

10/09/2015

Carole B.

Awesome job. Found very important imperfections that were not visible to the "human" eye. The money he saved us in future problems completely off-set the cost of his work. HIGHLY recommend.

Description of Work
Thorough inspection of new construction.

Category home inspection

5.0

09/10/2015

JR B.

Mike was great! I have purchased many homes and Mike is the best inspector I have had. He promptly gave me his availability when I needed to schedule the inspection. He communicated to me his arrival time and was 5 minutes early, which was great. Mike is a true professional and has an immense amount of knowledge with how home work. He was thorough and efficient in the inspection. He took time to talk to me during the inspection when he felt I should see something. He spent a large amount of time afterwards showing me the photos and then discussing what he saw in the photo. His subsequent report came the evening of the inspection and was representative of every he discussed in person. One other piece of information I learned when talking to Mike he also helps train / apprentice new home inspectors, so he is well regarded among his colleagues. I strongly recommend Mike to inspect a home.

Description of Work
Inspected a 3,000+ ft. home built in 2005 that I am purchasing

Category home inspection

5.0

09/02/2015

Richard P.

Mike was great. Very thorough and detailed. Took the tome at the end and walked us through all the pictures and what he felt were issues, wear and tear or jsut better building practices. would not hesitate to use or recommend him

Description of Work
Full inspection of home we were purchasing.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/18/2015

Charles P.

Excellent inspector. Total time was 2.5 hours including discussion of findings. Inspector was knowledgeable, on time, friendly, and prompt with report completion. All areas of the home were inspected and tested for functionality where appropriate, then noted in the final report. A number of discrepancies were found, written up, and sent to the builder to have corrected prior to closing. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Inspected 2,300 sq-ft new build in Charleston, SC, at 12 days prior to closing.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/13/2015

pam C.

Again we had a great experience working with Mike on our recent home inspection. He was very professional and knowledgeable regarding home inspections. We received a very detailed report with photos. A completely thorough job. Couldn't have asked for a better home inspector.

Description of Work
Mike did a very detailed home inspection for us on our prospective new home purchase. His report was easy to read and follow. Very informative. He identified an issue with the A/C unit, which could have been a costly repair for us (instead seller's took care of the issue) We would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for an excellent home inspector. Thank you Mike.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/02/2015

Leslie R.

Inspection went well. Mike was extremely thorough. He made suggestions and came up with creative solutions to home quirks. Went over everything at the time of the inspection. Before the end of the day of inspection, we had a full inspection report in hand. Mike had a great communication leading up to inspection and has offered additional help after inspection. Will definitely be recommending and will hire again!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

06/02/2015

Stephanie R.

I called Mike based on the recommendation of a friend, who had found him on Angie's List. I have no doubt why he is highly recommended! Mike stayed in touch as we scheduled our inspection, he was prompt, professional and courteous. He completed a very thorough inspection of the property and talked us through some of what he was inspecting as the inspection was going on. He completed a very detailed report which was delivered to us in a very timely manner. His service was far superior to the last inspector we used for our last home purchase. I would recommend Mike to anyone in need of home inspection services!

Description of Work
Mike completed a very thorough inspection and provided a detailed report for a home we are under contract to purchase.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/19/2015

Christopher V.

I don't write reviews unless something is really outstanding. Mike was outstanding. He was thorough,f flexible, friendly, and a good communicator. He explained everything he did, took lots of pictures, wrote a long report, and just made us feel like he cared about what he was doing.

Description of Work
inspected a home I wanted to buy

Category home inspection

1.0

03/16/2015

Feodora S.

I told him there was a leak and has been since I moved in. When I brought it to his attention, he said it could have been someone who walked on the roof and was unlikely his $9,000 camera that missed the leak. I feel like he was negligible and now I am stuck with a leaky roof. He was very abrupt arrogant. He wasn't very pleasant on the phone from the start. I feel he twisted my words to my Realtor as well.

Description of Work
He came out for a home inspection.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

I inspected her house in November last year and there was no leaking roof or damaged roof decking inside the attic. She called me a little over a week ago to say it's been leaking since she moved in?? Before she move in a satellite dish had been removed from the roof (hence the 'it could have been them on the roof that started it" comment from me) Even though she never informed me of a 'problem' or her dissatisfaction with her reports for 3 months - She was offered a full refund of the inspection cost and still chose to be vindictive here. I wish her the best of luck in her future interactions with other contractors of any sort. You the Informed Reader can be the judge of my 'failure'.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Annamae Dooley

Last Updated: 02/12/2023

Views: 6162

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (65 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Annamae Dooley

Birthday: 2001-07-26

Address: 9687 Tambra Meadow, Bradleyhaven, TN 53219

Phone: +9316045904039

Job: Future Coordinator

Hobby: Archery, Couponing, Poi, Kite flying, Knitting, Rappelling, Baseball

Introduction: My name is Annamae Dooley, I am a witty, quaint, lovely, clever, rich, sparkling, powerful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.